top of page

Let Us Teach You How to Talk About Yourself

When business professionals say, “tell me about yourself,” I tend to fall flat in my response. Do you have any tips on what to talk about so I can make a lasting impact?

Dear Reader,

First off – this is a great question. Personally, I have been prompted to tell potential employers about myself during every single career fair or interview I’ve been to. Since the question came up so often, I realized it must be a pretty important one, but I never knew exactly how to answer it. Do they want to know about my hobbies? Am I coming off self-centered? It’s hard to find a balance, and of course, you want it to sound natural.

With the help of some friends (aka Google) I’ve come up with a blueprint for what to tell employers when they ask you this daunting question.

What to tell a potential employer…

1. Why you feel you’re a good fit for the job or what made you interested in the field

This is where you could add a personal anecdote or throw in a character trait that would help the employer get a feel for you as a person.

2. Your business interests

This kind of ties into number one. Explain the areas of business you are intrigued by and why. Do you love how consulting connects with clients around the world? Are you fascinated by how numbers come together to form reports on a business’ profits and those same numbers are a basis for the world to see how well the company is doing?

3. What you are involved in that relates to the job

Here’s your chance to highlight something that may go unseen on your resume – your campus/extracurricular involvement! If you are involved in an organization that helps you become a better business woman (*ahem* CWIB) tell them about it!

4. Your relevant strengths

Tie in the skills you possess that would make yourself successful in the position – bonus points if you incorporate something specific that was highlighted in the job posting!

Let’s put it all together…

Well, I’ve been interested in the marketing industry for years – ever since high school, really. And outside of school I’ve always enjoyed going to concerts and seeing live music of any sort. When I started exploring ways to bridge the two interests I found so many unique opportunities – including this position with your company. At Virginia Tech, I am involved in an organization called Collegiate Women in Business. We are constantly holding events during which business women share their career stories and every time I hear a recurring theme – follow your passions. Business and music are mine – so to be able to be a part of the “behind the scenes” aspect of bringing music to people would be a dream come true. I’m a pretty “type-A” personality (say with a laugh – show them your sense of humor!) so I can definitely bring the organization and multitasking to the role, along with the knowledge from various business courses, such as Marketing Management. That was kind of long-winded (again, laugh or smile, show them your charm!) but what you should really know is I’m just a passionate business student who would love to be a member of your team!

Keep in mind these are only four example components. You can include whatever you feel would make you stand out amongst other candidates. The main thing to remember is this: whoever is asking doesn’t want to know about your childhood or the show you are currently binge watching… they want to get to know you as a business professional!

Another note: remember, they will ask you more questions about your strengths, weaknesses, how you’ve handled conflict, etc. The answer to this particular question should not be a summary of everything they will ask you later on.

Hope that helps!

bottom of page